Just bought an electric guitar

Maxwell

Expectation:

ezgif-4-5ecc50845f.gif

Reality:

But seriously folksh. Any guitar playing brothamen here with some tips for a beginner? I can easily play power chords and I'm a drummer, so I at least have decent musicality, but I can't just pick up a guitar and play something that sounds good on its own. Should I look up instruction videos or what?

gassers

CakeHorn/Say "Cookie"/BonnieMcFarlaneMe2 Alt
Expectation:

ezgif-4-5ecc50845f.gif

Reality:

But seriously folksh. Any guitar playing brothamen here with some tips for a beginner? I can easily play power chords and I'm a drummer, so I at least have decent musicality, but I can't just pick up a guitar and play something that sounds good on its own. Should I look up instruction videos or what?

Since you mentioned power chords and wants to start something with less complicated, I'd recommend Green Day. They might be not your taste though. 16, dick about music.

NoBacon

The gunslinger.
Have you got any natural rhythm?

I don’t, but I love playing guitar.

I’ll never be good but just playing something fills me with joy.

Get a “guitar chords for dummy’s” book. Learn the shapes of major chords, get used to pressing those strings down (your fingers will hurt for days) and strumming each slowly so they sound clean. No buzz.

Then keep practicing as much as possible playing major chords till they’re muscle memory and clean, move between them and do the same process at building muscle memory moving between chords with it sounding clean.

Now you can play major chords in any order and it sounds clean, now you can YouTube oasis songs and get a capo and teach yourself a lot of great songs.

That’s where I’m at now and I’m really proud of myself because I’m terrible at it.

You can complicate it from that point as much as you want and learn barre chords, and scales and basic solos etc.

Edit nvm actually read the text, you can play drums and power chords already.

Maxwell